Home

By: Nicholas Jamerson, Student Writer.

On October 30, in Jefferson City, MO, the Cross Country team had 3 people compete at State. Seniors Sean Bryant, Joe Ross, and Freshman Sophia Cissell competed and dominated the competition.

“I was so excited and nervous to be at State for my first time, and I was pretty happy with the time I ran and place. I hope to make it again in the future,” said Cissell.

Ross placed 57th, finishing his first mile in an astounding 5 minutes and 20 seconds and coming in front of Bryant with his place of 71st. Cissell, in her first State appearance, wrecked the place with a finish of 67th.

dsc_3339-2

Side-by-side, the girls run together as a team at their cross country meet. “Our coach always jokes that our pain is his pleasure,” said Senior Zoila Victoria. Photo by: Mr. Lofland

“I was excited to truly show my improvement from my performance at State last year,” said Ross.

Ross has  been working hard for his second chance at State, running every day and working out in the weight room. He is now looking forward to Track Season in the Spring.

“I ran a faster time this year than I did last year, but the competition did as well, so now I’m going to focus my energy on Track,” said Ross.

dsc_3254-2

Juniors Jack Lewis, Ryan Barber, and Sophomore George Lofland run with long strides at their cross country meet, advancing towards the finish line. The Warrior’s ended the year with several State qualifications. Photo by: Mr. Loftland

Although this is State, and is the ultimate competition between schools, the SPX runners loved running first, but afterwards, were excited to talk to the other schools involved.

“Besides the race, my favorite part of the meet was talking to the other runners about their own experiences,” said Bryant.

At Jeff City, the 3 Warriors represented the school with pride. While 2 will be graduating and 1 will be coming back to the team next year, they will be fighting for State once again.

Leave a Reply

