Home

Junior Macy Drumright, an active member of theatre and artist extraordinaire, has been selected as Junior of the Month for March, which just so happens to be Macy’s birth month. Be sure to wish Macy a Happy Birthday on March 27th!!

img_5543

Junior of the Month, Macy Drumright, at Cub Creek Science Camp. Snapping a selfie with a Kookaburra bird. Photo by: Macy Drumright.

By: Halle Nelson, Reporter

Q: What are all of your nicknames?

A: Mace, Mace the Ace, Officer Grape Juice, and Siblong.

Q: What is the craziest incident you’ve ever experienced?

A: Once, I got attacked by ghosts on homeless night at St. Patrick’s in the middle of the night.

Q: What is your greatest passion in life?

A: Nature, adventure, and exploration of the world. Basically that’s it.

Q: What roles have you played in theatre, and which was your favorite?

A: I was chorus member in Wizard of Oz, I was the understudy for Mitch Mahoney in the 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee, I was the lead Wickersham in Suessical the musical, Amethyst in the Steven Universe One Acts and I was Officer Welch in Rumors. My favorite was probably Wickershams… That was pretty fun.

Q: If you could be one animal, what animal would you be?

A: I would be… Oh, that’s a hard choice. I’d be a kookaburra because I would sound like I’m laughing all the time and I could eat anything I want and do anything I want because I wouldn’t feel pain in my beak. And, I’d live in Australia, which would be pretty cool.

Q: How did you become such a great artist?

A: A lot of practice. I’ve been drawing since I was a little kid. Occasionally I will watch tutorials if I don’t know how to draw something, but I’ve just kept drawing throughout the years and I keep all my old drawings. As I go, I get better and better.

img_5547

Junior Macy Drumright playing officer Welch interrogating Lenny (Senior Ben Schmidt) in one of her favorite plays Rumors. Photo by: Meghan Hayden.

Q: What’s your life’s motto?

A: You can’t control what others do, you can only control what you do, so you just have to do the best you can do with your time. Alternatively, when life gives you lemons make grape juice and leave the world wondering how you did it.

Q: Who is your favorite fictional character and from where?

A: That’s such a hard choice!! *laughs* Why would you ask me something like this?… Oh gosh…. Um…. I can’t really pick a character, but I can say that my favorite Pokemon has been Flygone since I was like five.

Q: Who is your favorite teacher and why?

A: It’s kind of a tie between Mr. Thornburg and Ms. Hess because Thornburg is awesome and patient and just a nice person in general. Ms. Hess is just plain awesome and great at art, and Mr. Scrogham is a close third because he’s great too.

 

Leave a Reply

