Home

Students gathered at St. Pius X to celebrate the annual Sweetheart dance. Leading up to this special day, the students wore outfits centered around the theme Star Wars.

By: Morgan Storm, Editor in Chief

 

image

Senior Sam Martino participating in the Sand Storm mosh pit tradition of Sweetheart, luckily, he didn’t get dropped. Photo by: Meghan Hayden

From a galaxy far, far away, St. Pius X presents Sweetheart. As the dress up days and the dance got closer, the students’ excitement kept growing. The theme for Sweetheart was Star Wars.

“I think the theme is really fun. I don’t really know much about Star Wars, but it it will be a really cool theme for the dance,” said Freshman Anna Surber, before she attended the event.

The dress up days for Sweetheart Week were: dress like a Jedi, Dark vs. Light, and dress like your favorite character.

image

Sophomores Kyle Hayden and Vanessa Carlisle showing their school spirit for Sweetheart Week. Photo by: Meghan Hayden

Freshman Liz Sims said her favorite dress up day was the Dark vs. Light day.

“I thought it was funny to see how many people said they were on the dark side,” Sims said.

image

Sophomore Pete Haus (Darth Vader) using the force on Senior Austin Mendez (Han Solo). Photo by: Meghan Hayden

Saturday night, students gathered in the small gym and attended the dance.

Surber said, “I just had a lot of fun getting to see all my friends dressed up, dancing, and having a good time.”

Later that night, seniors Ben Schmidt and Sydney Routh were crowned Sweetheart King and Queen.

“I was super excited when I found out that I won, and I love so many of the people here and I feel so honored that people voted for me,” Sydney Routh said.

 

Leave a Reply

