Home

Sofia Torres was chosen as Freshman of the Month because of her involvement in St. Pius activities and her joyful attitude. 

By: Halle Nelson, Reporter

Sofia Torres was selected as freshman of the month at St. Pius X High School, under the recommendation of religious instructor, Julia Unger. Torres shared her thoughts in an exclusive interview about her year so far, and her school activities.

image

Freshman Katie Kallenberger and Sofia Torres posing for a pic in the pool. Photo by: Erin Giffin

Q: How did swim season go for the school team?

A: I think it’s been really fun! I really like the team that I’m on. They’re a really fun experience for me. I’ve definitely made a lot of friends and we are really close.

Q: How does swim compare to last season’s volleyball team?

A: The swim team was definitely a lot smaller. [On the swim team] I feel like we were forced to be a family.

Q: What extracurriculars are you currently involved in, and which do you plan to be over the next few years?

A: I am currently in Spanish Club [and] I might audition for Sartons next year.

Q: Who is your favorite teacher?

A: I like Mrs. Unger a lot. I like her enthusiasm… She always says that I work hard and I appreciate her recognizing my effort. She’s definitely one of my favorites.

Q: What is your favorite class?

A: Probably religion because of Mrs. Unger.

image

Freshman Sofia Torres swimming freestyle at Center High School at their first Conference Meet. Photo by: Meghan Hayden

Q: Where is your dream vacation?

A: I definitely want to go to Spain. Probably Madrid.

Q: What has sparked your interest in Spain?

A: Obviously I’m Hispanic, I’m Mexican, so it’s part of my culture.

Q: What is something most people would not know about you?

A: A lot of people don’t know I sang until I told them.

Q: Is there anything you want to add about your selection as freshman of the month?

A: Big thank you to all of my teachers.

Leave a Reply

